If you venture to Settings â†’ iTunes & App Stores, youâ€™ll notice a new toggle at the bottom of the screen, labeled Offload Unused Apps. Setting that switch to the ON position shall prompt iOS to delete rarely used apps from your device in order to make more room for your photos, videos, documents and so forth.
The featureâ€™s description notes that documents and data belonging to uninstalled apps will be kept on your device in case the app is reinstalled. â€œReinstalling the app will place back your data, if the app is still available in the App Store,â€ notes Apple.
This feature is disabled by default.
Rightfully so, if I may add. Had Apple enabled it by default, novice users wouldâ€™ve been stunned discovering iOS had deleted their apps for seemingly no apparent reason.